It’s Sunday and we are already thinking of what we need to do for the coming week. But before going back to the hustle and bustle of life, let’s  take a break. Sit down with a cup of tea or coffee and listen to the soothing tune of Dave Brubeck’s tune Take Five. That’s what I’m doing right now.

 I’ve been thinking of starting a little feature of my favourite places for books that you should defintely visit in my town. Since I got a bit of time today, here’s the first :

You have probably already seen the black and white photo on my blog when I posted snaps of  Lyon. This is actually the entrance to “Bal des Ardents” which is located in a small sided street while walking up towards the Opera of Lyon. I have just read that “Le Bal des Ardents” refers to an event that occured during the reign of King Charles VI in 1393 . A fire started during an evening of entertainment for the King, in which some people died including the King’s brother. Following this event, the King descended into folly.

I love this library because  it’s an independant libray . It’s not part of a chain. It doesn’t have a coffee place nor does it sell any gadgets or stationnery. It’s just about books.The people who work there ( I don’t like calling them book sellers)  are  very helpful and are genuine book lovers. The entrance talks for itself. Here you’ll find books for every taste ranging from philosophy, sociology, photogarphy, art, comic books, religion, fiction and non fiction, journalism… My favourite section is at the far end of the bookshop when you enter. There I spend hours looking at the latest detective/thrillers. I have long given up on American authors like Harlan Corben because I feel all his books have been written  in haste and are too commercial. My favourites now  are from Icelandic author Arnaldur Indridason, Norwegian author Jo Nesbo, Swedish Hening Mankell, Mons Kallentoft. They keep me busy on my sleepless nights, rainy days….

Please visit   if  you come to Lyon 🙂

Leave a Reply

